“My First Love”

23 03 2011

Greetings in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ our Redeemer! Dear friends, this is an interesting topic to look at! ” My First Love.” Most of us would say it would be our parents, your childhood sweetheart or your college sweetheart for the matter! Let us be open about it friends! Most of us have had a first love in our life. Some of you my friends may say no, but most of you my friends would agree with me. A first love is someone whom for the very first time we fall in love with. When you love someone you love them so dearly than anything else and nothing else matters! No situation or circumstances will ever stop you from loving them. Is the person that you really love is your first love or is there” another person” who is indeed your” first love” but ” You have forsaken Him!” The word of God says as it is written in the book of Revelation 2:4 ” Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken your first Love!” And that first love is God my friends! Did we? How have we forsaken our first love?

Dear friends, we have all forsaken our first love by loving others more than Him! We love our parents, husband, wife and our children more than God.  Please do not get me wrong!  I am not telling you not to love your parents, husband, wife and children! What I meant was Above All we should love God more than anyone or anything else! Husband and wife, you should love God more than your spouse! Parents love God more than your children and Children love God more than your parents! Children I am not asking you to abandon your parents! ” If we love anything more than God, we have forsaken Him.” Abraham did not with hold his son Isaac when God told him to sacrifice Isaac at the altar. God wanted to see if Abraham loved his son more than God. Abraham did not forsake his first love! He loved God more than his son that he was willing to sacrifice Isaac. God did the same.He sacrificed His only son Jesus Christ for us all regardless of our race and religion! He gave His son up for us! We were Gods “first love” You and I!

At times friends, we have forsaken our First Love when we go and bow down to idols! It is written in the Old Testament in Deuteronomy 5:7-9 ” You shall have no other gods before me. You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath in the waters below. You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I am the Lord your God.” God was angry with the people He brought out of Egypt. They made an idol cast in the shape of a calf and worship it. They had forsaken their first love. The God who brought them out of slavery!

Today my friends, what are the things that we do have made us to forsake our first love? Have you swayed and renounce your faith because of that “someone” you love more than God or is it your parents, spouse, children or wealth has become more important to you than God? Today, let us not forget that God loved us more than anyone or anything else that He sent His only begotten son to die on that cross for You and I.  Friends, you can love anyone or anything but remember your First Love is to God “First.” Take this time of the Lent season to know ” Who is your first love?”  I know who is ” My First Love and I would not Forsake Him for anyone or anything.” I Love You my Lord! Have a Blessed Lent Season my dear friends.

God Bless.

Jasmine.C






Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

