“Friends! Are We Self Centered Or People Centered?”

4 04 2011

Greetings in the name of Our Lord Jesus Christ Our Redeemer! Dear friends as we meet again through my posting, let me take you my friends to another article that I have posted today! Friends, if God comes today into your life, we may think that God wants to ask us about so many things! But to your surprise my friends, there are certain things that God would not ask you! Let us check it out friends!

Dear friends, how many of us would like to ask our friends certain things when we meet them after such a long time? We have got a lot of things on our mind to ask them, right? I myself use to do it, after meeting friends I have not met for twenty over years! I had so many things to ask them my friends and I believe that all my friends out there do it too! We usually ask them if they are married or are they single? If they are not settled down what was the reason? Where are they attached to? How many kids do they have and the list will go a long way, my friends!. Are there certain things that we won’t ask them? I don’t think so! Whether it is good or bad, we want to know everything! At times we are so into asking people about themselves, we tend to forget about ourselves? Today if the Lord meets you, there are things God would not ask you “regarding about yourselves!” God is more interested in what we do for others than we do for ourselves!” He is not a God who is “self centered” but a God who is “people centered.”

Dear friends, many of us out there who are believers are so self centered and not people centered. As we look at our Lord Jesus Christ he was more to the people especially those who have been rejected by the people who claim themselves to be self righteous! The poor and the needy were cast away and their needs were not met by those who claim they were rich! Just read on with me my dear friends! Let us see what are the things that make us so self centered that we forget about the others! Friends, God would not ask you the kind of car you drove but he will ask you how many people you drove who didn’t have transportation to church, to the market or to the hospital? God would not ask you the square footage of your home but how many people you welcome into your home? God would not ask you about those fancy clothes that you have in your closet but how many did you help to clothe? God would not ask you how many friends you have but to how many people to whom you were a friend?

As we continue friends, let us go on! God would not ask you in which neighborhood you lived but he will ask you how you treated your neighbor? God would not ask the color of your skin but he will ask you the content of your character towards others? God would not ask you how many material possessions you had but will ask you if they dictated your life and became more important to you than the life of others around you? God would not ask you what you did to help yourself but what you did to help those in need around you? God would not ask you what you did to protect your rights but what you did to protect the rights of others when you had the power to do so? God would not ask you how many times your deeds matched your words but will ask you how many times they didn’t match? God would not ask you how many times you fed those who had food in abundant but how many times did you feed the less fortunate ones?

Dear friends, how many of us fall into the category of being so self centered that we tend to be so blinded that we can’t see those people who are really in need! Please do take this time of Lent to do some good deeds unto others than focusing on ourselves! Friends the word of God is written in the gospel of St Matthew 25:35-36 ” For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me!”  Then the righteous will answer him, “Lord , when did we do all these things for you?” The word of God goes on as it is written ” The King will reply, I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did it for me.” Yes my friends, let us change ourselves from being so self centered  to people centered! That is what Our Lord Jesus did,didn’t He!

Let us make a change and let others see the change in us! Have a Blessed Lent Season!

God Bless.

Jasmine.C

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

