“Who Is The Shepherd In Your Life?”

5 04 2011

Greetings in the name of Our Lord Jesus Christ Our Redeemer! Dear friends, as you have read my previous postings, I would like to bring you to the most beautiful Psalm that most of us are very familiar with! It is one of my favorite Psalm and it is no other than Psalm 23! Just read on and you will see why I told you that it is such a beautiful Psalm.Dear friends, how many of us can recite this Psalm without referring to the bible? I am very proud to say that I can do it! Friends, you may think that I am boasting about myself! Yes, indeed I am and I am not going to deny it because I am boasting in the Lord! Anything wrong with that, my friends? We boast about so many worldly things. Why not boast about the word of God! Friends, I want to let you know why I am so proud in letting you know that I can recite it without looking at the bible! In one of my earlier postings, I did mentioned that me and my siblings were brought up in a police camp and we did not have a nearby church to go to! We could only go to church two times in a year and that is on Christmas and Easter Day!  Imagine twice in a year my friends!

My parents did their part by making it compulsory to have our family prayers daily! Nothing would ever stop the prayer time. My mother made sure that by sharp 7.00 pm we are gathered as a family to pray. My dad would lead the family in prayer! The “Lords Prayer and Psalm 23” was compulsory to be said by each and everyone of us! That is how my siblings and I could recite “Psalm 23” with ease! Before we leave our home for school we all  do say Psalm 23! I owe this to my parents because the responsibility that was given by God to both of them, they both carried it out faithfully! Friends,till today, I do say Psalm 23 before I leave the house to go anywhere and I have trained up my kids to do so and they are doing it too!

Dear friends, let me tell you why I said that it was such a beautiful Psalm! There are seventeen “ingredients” as I call it that is in the Psalm! Let us see what is it! Firstly it starts out with “The Lord is my Shepherd” that is “relationship.” We are acknowledging God as our Shepherd and a Shepherd takes good care of his sheep and we are the sheep of His pasture! Secondly it says “I shall not want” and that is “supply.” He supplies us with good things! Thirdly “He makes me to lie down in green pastures” and that is “rest.” Friends have you ever been to a green pasture? It is such a peaceful place where you can rest! And the fourth in line is “He leads me beside the still waters” and that is “refreshment.” A Shepherd will always lead his sheep to the waters to have a drink to refresh themselves! Our refreshment comes from Jesus the “Living water!” He refreshes our spirit and soul! The fifth in line is “He restores my soul” and that is “healing.” Jesus heals us physically and spiritually! The sixth in line is “He leads me in the path of righteousness” and that is “guidance.” Jesus guides our every step! Isn’t that wonderful friends?

As we go on friends, the seventh in line is “For His name sake” and that is “purpose.” Jesus leads us in righteousness for His name sake and not ours my friends! The eight in line is “Yea, though I walk through the valley of shadow of death” and that is “testing’ my friends! Do not be afraid of testings because as we see in the ninth in line says “I will fear no evil” and that is “protection” friends! As we all go through the time of testing,God’s protection is always there with us! Let us take a look at the tenth in line “For thou art with me” and that is “faithfulness” where God is always faithful and He never goes back on His word! The eleven in line is “Thy rod and thy staff comfort me” and that is “discipline” friends! At times when we wander off like the lost sheep, the Lord will pull us back with His rod and staff.He loves us that is why he disciplines us!

The twelve in line is “Thou prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies” and that is “hope.” There is always hope in Jesus! The thirteen in line is “Thou anoints my head with oil” and that is “consecration.” He consecrates each and every one of us. The fourteen in line is “My cup runs over” and that is “abundance.” God blesses us with abundance of blessings that it will over flow to others! The fifteenth in line is “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life” and that is “blessing” for God will forever bless His children. The sixteenth in line is “And I will dwell in the house of the Lord” and that is “security” that shows us that we have a home in heaven and that is our permanent home. Finally the seventeen in line is “Forever” and that is “eternity” my friends!  Forever and ever God is there with us until eternity! That is what makes this Psalm so beautiful my friends with all the seventeen “ingredients” in it! Today, welcome Jesus as the Good Shepherd into your lives my friends. He is my Good Shepherd and I am His sheep! What about you my friends? Have a Blessed Lent Season.

God Bless.

Jasmine.C

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

